The King’s Deception by Steve Berry

On the back cover of Steve Berry‘s latest Cotton Malone novel, The King’s Deception, is a blurb from Kirkus Reviews:  “A Dan Brown-ian secular conspiracy about the Virgin Queen driving nonstop international intrigue.”  Unless the point of the sentence was a play on the word Brownian as in Brownian motion, the reviewer seems to consider Dan Brown to be the leader in the genre, though, as from what I can find out, both Berry and Brown published their first novels in 2006..  Having read all of Berry’s (12) and Brown’s (6) novels, I can state unequivocally that Berry is better.  In fact, all of his novels have been well-written, interesting, and enjoyable.  Of Brown’s books, only two, Angels & Demons and The Da Vinci Code, can be favorably compared to any of Berry’s novels.

Until I read The King’s Deception, I was not familiar with the theory that Elizabeth I was a man.  I’m more inclined to believe Prince Tudor theory, which would make the the theory impossible unless Elizabeth died in childbirth in her early teens.

2 responses to “The King’s Deception by Steve Berry

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more about comparing Berry to Browne, and thank you for introducing me to the Prince Tudor theory. According to Berry, the Bisley boy theory is quite believable…if but a little circumstantial. A year ago I was first introduced to Berry by Elaine Charles, the host of the Book Report radio show (Miami based but their site has an updated archive section) when he spoke of his then new book; ‘The Columbus Affair’. Almost a year later he’s on the same show, but this time for him to elaborate on British secrets (Berry makes sure we all have a turn).

  2. A colleague introduced me to Berry several years ago, and I’ve enjoyed all of his books. The history is particularly interesting.