Devil’s Food Cake Murder by Joanne Fluke

I finally found and read Joanne Fluke‘s latest Hannah Swenson Mystery, Devil’s Food Cake Murder (New York:  Kensington Books, 2011).  Except for the ending (more later), I generally enjoyed the book.  Some of the recipes looked especially good or helpful:

  • Butterscotch Bonanza Bars (30-32)
  • Mini Mac Cookies (83-85)
  • Orange or Lemon Creams (96-100)
  • Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk (223)
  • Strawberry Shortbread Bar Cookies (248-50)

SPOILER ALERT

As I mentioned earlier, I didn’t like the ending where Norman told Hannah that he was going to marry Bev because otherwise she wouldn’t let him “be part of Diana [his daughter’s] life” (322).  As I stated in my post about the last Hannah Swenson book, Apple Turnover Murder, I think that ” Norman is clearly the better choice.” I also wrote that “Based on the ending of Apple Turnover Murder, it appears that Hannah may lose Norman to his new partner in his dental practice.”

My prediction appears to be correct, but I have my doubts.  At the end of Devil’s Food Cake Murder, Norman told Hannah “I love you so much!” (321).  If I were writing the next book, Diana would end up not being Norman’s daughter.   In addition, Bev will be the murder victim, Norman will be the obvious suspect, and Hannah will prove that he’s innocent.

Comments are closed.