“Runaway Universe” Stars Win Nobel Prize

For the last few years, I’ve used “Runaway Universe,” an episode of NOVA that was originally broadcast on Nov. 11, 2000, in my second-semester freshman composition classes to initiate a discussion about research.

I was pleased to learn this morning that three of the scientists featured in the show have been awarded the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics for the research I’ve watched them do so many times: Brian P. Schmidt, Adam G. Riess, Saul Perlmutter.

Comments are closed.