Apple Turnover Murder by Joanne Fluke

I’ve read all of Joanne Fluke’s Hannah Swenson Mysteries, and I recently discovered that another one, Apple Turnover Murder (New York:  Kensington Publishing, 2010), had been published earlier this year.

I didn’t care for Apple Turnover Murder as much as I remember liking earlier books in the series.  A lot of the dialogue seemed stilted, and quite a bit of the action seemed designed solely to introduce new recipes.  (I wish, though, that she would publish a cookbook with the recipes from all of the mysteries.)  The plot didn’t seem coherent or well developed, but I can’t put my finger on anything specific.

Also, I’m tired of Hannah’s inability to choose between Mike and Norman (whose last names weren’t even mentioned in the most recent book–at least not that I can remember).  Norman is clearly the better choice.  Based on the ending of Apple Turnover Murder, it appears that Hannah may lose Norman to his new partner in his dental practice.

Comments are closed.