Pern Novels by Anne McCaffrey and Todd McCaffrey

In January I was looking for something to read, and I decided to read Anne and Todd McCaffrey’s Pern novels (in italics) and short stories (in quotation marks) in chronological order according to the order in which they occurred on Pern not the order in which they were written.  I found two lists (one by Anne McCaffrey and one by Cheryl B. Miller) that I’ve combined and updated to give the following order**:

  1. “The Survey:  P.E.R.N.” (in The Chronicles of Pern:  First Fall)
  2. Dragonsdawn
  3. “The Dolphins’ Bell” (in The Chronicles of Pern:  First Fall)
  4. “The Ford of Red Hanrahan” (in The Chronicles of Pern:  First Fall)
  5. “The Second Weyr” (in The Chronicles of Pern:  First Fall)
  6. “Rescue Run” (in The Chronicles of Pern:  First Fall)
  7. Dragonseye (apparently published as Red Star Rising in the U.K.)
  8. “Ever the Twain” (in A Gift of Dragons)
  9. Dragon’s Kin
  10. Dragon’s Fire
  11. Dragon Harper
  12. Dragonsblood
  13. Dragonheart
  14. Dragongirl
  15. Dragon’s Time
  16. Sky Dragons
  17. Moreta:  Dragonlady of Pern
  18. “Beyond Between” (source unknown)
  19. Nerilka’s Story
  20. Masterharper of Pern
  21. Dragonflight
  22. Dragonquest
  23. Dragonsong
  24. “The Impression” (source unknown)
  25. “The Smallest Dragonboy” (in A Gift of Dragons)
  26. Dragonsinger
  27. Dragondrums
  28. The White Dragon
  29. “The Girl Who Heard Dragons” (in A Gift of Dragons)
  30. Renegades of Pern
  31. All the Weyrs of Pern
  32. The Dolphins of Pern
  33. “Runner of Pern” (in A Gift of Dragons)
  34. The Skies of Pern

I’ve read through Dragon Harper, and as I mentioned in a post last week, I started (re)reading Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan novels as well.  I want to drag out the Pern novels, so I can read Dragongirl in the right order when it is released.

* updated August 9, 2010
** list updated on December 20, 2010

Comments are closed.