Resources for Educators Getting Started in Second Life

Yesterday, laura1621, author of Rhetorically Squeaking, commented, “I love what you are doing with Second Life. I have thought about getting involved in/checking out Second Life, but I’m afraid that I would wind up playing versus doing anything remotely work related. Maybe I can figure out a way, now.”

I put the following list together for her and other educators like her who want to check out Second Life but haven’t done it yet.

Websites:

Videos:

Mailing Lists:

Organizations:

Books:

  • A Beginner’s Guide to Second Life. Las Vegas: v3image, 2007. at Amazon.com
  • Carr, Paul, and Graham Pond. The Unofficial Tourists’ Guide to Second Life. New York: St. Martin’s Griffin, 2007. at Amazon.com
  • Rymaszewski, Michael, et al. Second Life: The Official Guide. 2nd ed. Indianapolis: Wiley Publishing, Inc., 2008. at Amazon.com

2 responses to “Resources for Educators Getting Started in Second Life

  1. Have you visited Jokaydia in Second Life? This is a wonderful community for educators, and is particularly welcoming to new educators. See here for more information: http://jokaydia.com/2009/02/08/jokaydias-online-presence/

  2. Great post and good resources. I will mention this at Pearson – PHASE conference for Accouting Educators in Savannah. See my blog for some examples of what we are doing in SL