IT 5660 Unit 4 Blog Entry

For Unit 3, we were supposed to have read Chapters 8 and 9 in E-Learning by Design by William Horton.  During that week (Aug. 31 – Sept. 6), I

  • participated in a group discussion to determine common instructional values based on “best learning experiences” we related during the first week of the course
  • created a recording using Adobe Connect
  • participated in a discussion about the reading assignment from Horton
  • created a Picassohead
  • completed the weekly survey

I learned several things during the week:

  • Adobe Connect is not intuitive.  I thought I was pretty good with new technology, but I had a hard time figuring out how to complete the assigned recording.
  • I value different instructional strategies than some of my group members, particularly the ones who, I think, are certified teachers.  For example, I don’t consider everyday application of what is learned to be important or even relevant in a lot of subject areas.  (I do think it’s important to apply or practice what is learned, but it’s not always possible to apply things to everyday life.)  Some people might consider me to be a snob, but I think that the “less appliable” subjects are the more important ones (like literature, philosophy, art, physics, astronomy, etc.) because they go beyond our everyday lives.
  • I thought that most of what Horton discussed in Chapter 8 about making “Strategic Decisions” was common sense.
  • The Mr. Picassohead activity was interesting, but I didn’t like the limited options for creating our drawings.  I already knew that I don’t care much for modern art.

One response to “IT 5660 Unit 4 Blog Entry

  1. I think your comment about things being applicable is interesting. I have two degrees in religion and philosophy. While the “content” I learned wasn’t directly applied daily, the problem-solving / critical thinking skills I learned were and are still today.

    I wonder if a similar argument could be made about literature. Learning doesn’t happen in a vacuum… our past experiences influence what we learn and how we learn it. Given this, while reading a great book is different than a day-to-day “real” experience, I think it can still serve as a type of experience that we integrate and base future things off of…

    I guess what I am thinking through is that I think all those things you mentioned are applicable and important day-t0-day but in different (and sometimes more important… [note: did I mention I have a degree in religion and philosophy…] way.

    Patrick