Bookmarks inSuggest

As I promised in a post earlier this month, here is my take on Bookmarks inSuggest:

If you enter your Delicious username, Bookmarks inSuggest “will analyze your online bookmarks and recommend other bookmarks that matches your taste.” 

Once you’ve typed in the username and clicked on “Continue,” you’ll see the tags in a column on the left under a search box, the most recent bookmarks in the center, and the suggested sites on the right.

For my bookmarks, inSuggest listed twenty tags, starting with the following:

  • web2.0
  • education
  • tools
  • elearning
  • research
  • secondlife
  • free
  • searchengine
  • reference
  • technology

You may click on any of the tags listed to get some of your own bookmarks with that tag and suggested bookmarks using it.

On the main page for my Delicious account, my “Top 10 Tags” are listed as

  • web2.0
  • education
  • tools
  • research
  • searchengine
  • elearning
  • free
  • blog
  • wiki
  • reference

secondlife is not in my top ten, nor are reference and technology.  However, the first suggestions offered are for sites related to Second Life:

The fourth suggestion I already had bookmarked, and the fifth had little to do with Second Life.  It was a program for a conference held in 2007 with some presentations on Second Life.

It’s not clear where the suggestions come from.

Comments are closed.