Social Cataloging

I’ve been reading Web 2.0 for Librarians and Information Professionals by Ellyssa Kroski, and I just finished the chapter on “Social Cataloging.”  I hadn’t run across the term before, but I did have some of the sites she listed bookmarked already.  These are the sites she lists:

I can’t imagine taking the time to catalog all my books, but these sites might be useful for my students when they are doing research.

The book is easy to read and comprehensive.  Will Richardson‘s Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms is getting rather dated.  Kroski’s book is pretty current, though obviously published after the recent changes to Delicious, but unfortunately it’s written for librarians not educators.  We need another similar book, with examples and case studies, written for higher ed faculty.

2 responses to “Social Cataloging

  1. I’ve used LibraryThing for about 2 years now. I can’t imagine keeping track of all my books without it. There was a point when I was living between states and it was helpful to know which books were where.

    Aside from being able to add personal notes and reviews to books, the metadata gives me insights into my own collecting habits. taking the time to sit down and catalog all my books took an entire weekend, but the time and effort was worth it. I typed isbns and/or titles by hand but if you have a barcode scanner the work could go much faster.

  2. I probably have more than 2000 books, most of them in the basement, while my PC is on the main floor and my laptop wouldn’t be able to get a wireless signal that far from the modem.

    To be honest, I’ve never felt the need to keep track of all of my books. I know where to find the ones I want because of how they’re organized.