Disillusionment with Second Life

As I mentioned last month in a post on Hype Cycles, as long ago as last August people were suggesting that Second Life had entered the Trough of Disillusionment.  That is certainly true for me.  I haven’t been spending nearly as much time in SL this spring as last summer and fall.  (Part of that is due to a family matter.)  In addition, I’ve been extremely disappointed since I downloaded that latest viewer (1.19.1.4) a couple of weeks ago.  Objects are rezzing more slowly, and some of my clothing (and hair) hasn’t rezzed at all since then.

On May 1, I submitted a ticket about the issue, and I finally received a reply yesterday, May 8, informing me that there was a known bug with skirts rezzing, which was a problem with textures not attachments, and stating at the top, “We have solved your issue.”  Some solution!  There was no indication of when or how the bug would be fixed.

I would certainly be willing to explore another virtual world if there’s one out there that doesn’t have so many problems and runs in a web browser.

Comments are closed.