Daily Archives: October 17, 2009

The Phoenix Transformed by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory

A few days ago, I finished reading The Phoenix Transformed (New York: Tom Doherty Associates, 2009)by Mercedes Lackey and James Mallory.  While the resolution of the plot was interesting, I was disappointed with the book overall.  Without spoiling the book for anyone else, I’ll just say that Chapters Seven through Sixteen (pages 150-391), about half the book, could have been left out without any loss.

Since I read the first book in the series, I’ve been trying to figure out what the phoenix in the titles is because, while there are dragons, there are no animals of that species in the book.  I guess it must refer to High Magic and Wild Magic as possessed by Knight Mages, which reappeared after a 1000-years hiatus to deal with the new evil in the world.