Daily Archives: August 22, 2009

Sandstorm by James Rollins

Like Excavation, James Rollins‘ first Sigma Force novel and prequel to the Sigma Series, Sandstorm (New York:  William Morrow-HarperCollins, 2004), is “reminiscent of Indiana Jones”–particularly since one of the main characters, Dr. Omaha Dunn, is a Jonesesque archaeologist who is often called “Indiana Jones” by another character.  There’s as much action and archaeology as the Indiana Jones movies but even more science, making the library’s science fiction label, which I didn’t notice until I was well into the book, quite appropriate.

I’d never heard of Ubar, but I’m interested in learning more about it.

I thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend Sandstorm and am looking forward to reading Rollins’ next book in the Sigma Series, Map of Bones.