Daily Archives: April 10, 2008

Box.net Online File Storage

I’ve been using Box.net for some time now for my classes to make handouts available to students who miss class or need another copy.  Last fall, when I was using a blog to keep my students up to date on what what happening in class, I included links to the folders, one for each class.  Since I’m using a wiki instead this semester, I’ve used the widget to embed the class folders on their pages in the wiki.  (I also put in a link in case the files didn’t show up.)

All I needed to set up my free account was an e-mail address.  With this account, I get 1 gigbyte of storage, 10-megabyte file size limit, and 10-gigabyte per month bandwidth.  (More storage and larger file size limits are available with paid accounts.  For more information, go here.)

I’ve been very pleased with the service provided, and I’d strongly recommend it to anyone who needs to make files available online.  I haven’t tried editing documents and images online yet, but I’m sure that will come in handy.  It’s also great that there are no advertisements.

Cilipbuilding: Practical Uses for Web 2.0 – An Overview

from www.slideshare.net posted with vodpod